Polity Notes


Greece legalizes same sex marriage.

The historical act to legalize same sex marriages and establish equal parental rights for same sex couples has been passed by the Government of Greece. Greece is the first orthodox Christian nation to award recognition to same sex marriage in the face of opposition from the orthodox church.

Once the law promulgated, Greece will become the 37th nation in the world where same sex marriage is legal.

PM Surya Ghar Muft Bijli Yojna

This is Rs. 75000 Crore scheme to establish Solar Panels on the roof of 1 Crore houses to promote use of solar energy. The Scheme will lead to more income, lesser powerbills and employment generation for people.

Key Features of the Scheme –

1. Up to 300 units of electricity per month.

2. Up to Rs. 78,000 subsidies.

3. Loan at lower interest rates.

4. Easy enrollment process.

Rambhadracharya and Gulzar to be presented with the Jnanpith Award

Renowned Urdu Poet Gulzar and Sanskrit scholar Jagadguru Rambhandracharya have been named the recipients of the 58th Jnanpith Award, the Jnanpith Selection Committee announced on 17TH February.

Sampooran Singh Kalra, or Gulzar as he is popularly known, is celebrated for his works in Hindi Cinema and is considered as one of the finest Urdu poets of this era.

Rambhadracharya, founder and head of Tulsi Peeth in Chitrakoot is a renowned Hindu Spiritual Leader, educator and writer of more than 240 books and texts including 4 epics.

The committee nominated the above-mentioned candidates on the basis of them being eminent writers in their respective fields.

Jagadguru Rambhandra is known for their Sanskrit Literature whereas Shri Gulzar is known for their Urdu Literature.

Gulzar has previously received many notable awards for his proficiency in Urdu such as Sahitya Akademi Award for Urdu in 2002, Dadasaheb Phalke Award in 2013, Padma Bhushan in 2004 and at least 5 National Film awards for his works.

Rambhadracharya is one of the present 4 Jagadguru Ramanandacharyas of the Ramananda Sect and has been holding this position since 1982, and he received the Padma Vibhushan Award.

The Jnanpath award was introduced in 1944 and is given annually for contributions to Indian Literature. This is the second time the award is being given for Sanskrit Language and for the 5th time for Urdu. The award carries a cash prize for Rs. 21 Lakh and a statue of Vagdevi and a citation.